Post Trip- Georgia

1)How did you use any skills or knowledge from your time at APSU (from classes, student organizations, etc…) while volunteering on your alternative break trip?

Sociology classes helped me understand cultural differences on this trip, and allowed me to go into the trip realizing that comparing cultures would be useless, and that instead I should just appreciate the other cultures as they are.

2) Looking back on your experience, in what ways have you personally developed & learned from this experience that will help you in the future?

This trip definitely helped further my passion for learning about and experiencing other cultures. It solidified my desire to pursue a career in sociology and public policy, and gave me good real world experience with the struggles immigrants face. It also helped push me to be more social. We spent most days only having about a couple of hours to ourselves, which is something out of my comfort zone, and I’m glad it pushed me out of my bubble. It also taught me that language isn’t really a barrier- most of what you want to communicate can be understood in emotion and body language alone, and that’s definitely something that will help me in the future. I’m incredibly glad I went and met the people I did!

 

-Michael Taylor

Standard

Leave a Reply

