Pre-Trip Blog Post!

1. Tell us your academic major and why you are interested in that area. So I’m a double major in Psychology and Criminal Justice. I really enjoy Psychology because I’m fascinated with people. I’m not the best with a bunch of numbers or chemical equations, but I understand other humans pretty well. I like knowing why people behave the way they do, and what sections of the brain develop their actions. I’ve always been interested in the inner workings of the law so combining my two majors was a simple decision. 
2. How do you think that your academic major can be used to help others in your community? My goal is to ultimately join the Peace Corps. I really enjoy doing non-profit work and building the community. My knowledge in Criminology and Psychology will help me make meaningful connections with the people I work with. I feel like I’ll be able to connect with a broad group of people even if they are very different from myself. 
3. What skills or knowledge do you currently have that can help improve life for others? I am extremely resourceful and a quick learner. I would like to think I’m good at thinking on my feet and quickly making a game plan. I’ve worked with children organizing day camps in the past. I have also helped in soup kitchens so I’m experienced in cooking a large amounts and serving it out to those in need. I’ve worked on building a homeless shelter so I have experience in basic construction and painting. I’ve been a waitress for almost three years now so probably my best skill is talking to anyone and everyone. I don’t need to hesitate introducing myself or starting a conversation to make others comfortable. 
4. Introduce yourself! So, my name is Madelyn or Maddy for short but I go by both I’m not picky. I’m 18 and I was born and raised in Clarksville. When I’m not drowning in school work I enjoy hiking, kayaking, painting, cooking, and exploring new places. I have a three year old pit bull rescue who is the love of my life. I can’t really think of anything else to put here, because my life is based around school work. So yeah, I’m super excited about this trip and I cannot wait to get to know each of you more! 

Standard

Leave a Reply

