Pre-Trip: Nashville 2017

My name is Kristine Rush and I’m a social work major. I became interested in becoming a social worker because of my own battle mental illness and I want to help people and make a difference in the community.

One of the things that made me choose social work as a profession was how versatile they need to be and how they can be found in numerous settings. After graduating from the bachelor’s program, I am hoping to move on to my masters. The areas I would like to work in are mental health, hospice, homeless/poverty, or advocacy. Social work is all about empowering people and fighting for their rights. Social Workers also fight for policy changes to help better the community.

My skills or knowledge include teamwork, communication, problem solving, and customer service. These are just a few skills that will help me become an effective social worker.

I am junior here at Austin Peay and will graduate Spring 2018. I was in the Army for 9 ½ years and was medically retired January 2015. I am a big fan of Star Trek and Star Wars. My hobbies included hunting, archery, and anything to do with my son and dogs. I look forward to this trip and other volunteer opportunities.

-Kristine Rush

Standard

Leave a Reply

