Post-Trip Blog: Lacey Karge

I have to say that the trip was not at all what I expected, but I had a great time regardless. My initial thought was that we would be doing more service than we actually got to do. I would have to say that this trip has taught me a lot more about poverty than I already knew. We spent the majority of our time with Kingdom House in the classroom, discussing the details of poverty and what all it entails. I do think that the knowledge I gained will guide me in my future volunteer experiences as well as in my field of social work. It is difficult to express how this trip has helped me develop personally because the service was cut so short. However, I did meet some really great people, and was enlightened about other volunteer opportunities that I would have otherwise not known. I am very grateful for the wonderful, fun filled experience we all shared.

Standard

Leave a Reply

