Pre-Trip Blog: Lake Lanier, GA

Hello, my name is Zach Cowfer. I’m currently 18 years old and am a first time freshman here at Austin Peay State University. I have many hobbies that range from hiking and camping to shooting and even martial arts. I also have some knowledge and skills that I consider to be beneficial to myself and others. I’m CPR certified, know many techniques in self defense, and am versed in bush crafting skills such as fire and shelter building. I’m currently majoring in Agriculture with a focus in Sustainable Development because it’s my goal to become either a forester or an environmental scientist after college.

I think my degree is a very important one not only to myself, but to society as well. One of the highest concerns for humanity is the disturbance in our delicate balance with nature over the last hundred years or so. Scientists predict that the world’s population will reach 10 billion by the year 2050, and the earth won’t be able to support that many humans if we don’t change the way we treat our planet. I think a degree in conservation can help me to bring about change to the way we live with our environment so we can ensure both its and our future.

Over this trip, I hope to gain some valuable experience on life as a forester or park ranger, since that is the career path that I hope to pursue. I love getting out into the wilderness any chance I get, and being able to do community service by blazing trails just makes the experience that much more valuable. I’m also looking forward to meeting new people at APSU that share some common interests with me.

Standard

Leave a Reply

