Pre-Trip Blog: Kelsey Cantrell

Hello, my name is Kelsey Cantrell. I am a social work major. I chose this field because I am passionate about helping other people. Giving back isn’t just something I do, it has become a part of who I am. I desire to work in the school systems as a school social worker, with possibly a focus on bullying.

I think my skills will benefit the community because there is always room for people who genuinely care and will advocate for the needs within the community. Good listening, communication and being genuinely passionate and dedicated are a few of the skills/ qualities that I possess. I also try to see the positive in any situation and all people, and motivating others to do and be a better version of themselves.

I am the oldest of 5 and first to go  to college. I love being outside; I am obsessed with beauty of nature. I am also a coffee addict, chaco lover, and dog person. We have two rotties and a boxer (she’s my favorite) at my house. Working with children is literally my life, hence why I want to work in the school systems. I work at a daycare during the school year and a summer camp in Massachusetts during the summer. They’ve both impacted my life more than anything else. I am excited to put my hobby of being outdoors to use on the trip to Georgia.

Standard

Leave a Reply

