A Turtle’s Ambition (SC Trip) – Aristeo S. Ruiz

“The sun lay on the grass and warmed it, and in the shade under the grass the insects moved, ants and ant lions to set traps for them, grasshoppers to jump into the air and flick their yellow wings for a second, sow bugs like little armadillos, plodding restlessly on many tender feet. And over the grass at the roadside a land turtle crawled, turning aside for nothing, dragging his high-domed shell over the grass: His hard legs and yellow-nailed feet threshed slowly through the grass, not really walking, but boosting and dragging his shell along.” – John Steinbeck (Grapes of Wrath)

I am beyond excited to embark on this journey to South Carolina tomorrow. I really appreciate what this nonprofit is doing for their wildlife, and I hope that I can contribute in some way down there.

My name is Ari, and I am a communication student with a concentration in public relations and graphic design. I plan to comfort and assist any man, woman, animal, etc. that needs it. My hope is that trip is a time of reflection and chance to give back to nature who has provided love and understanding to mankind over the years. I am very much like this turtle listed in the quote above. I seek good vibes and a bright future ahead of me. I never look back, but I encourage a vision. My vision for this weekend is to be in harmony with wildlife and create an environment for them where they can be comfortable.

I want my personality to set the positive tone for the trip and to counteract any problems. Physically and mentally, I would love to give this nonprofit my all. In advance, I want to say thank you for this opportunity. Most likely, South Carolina will give back more to me than I can ever offer it. This will not limit my ambition. Like the turtle, I will be motivated to accomplish great work in SC. Just you wait and see.

Aristeo S. Ruiz
Communication – Public Relations/Graphic Design
Junior
Austin Peay State University

Standard