Tyler Hagemann – Spring 2016 Post Reflection (Nashville)

During the trip, I had to use various skills that I learned during my PELP classes while in the community. I had to communicate effectively while under stressful situations while engaging in active conversations with my fellow peers and others at the organizations. Coming into the trip, I was reluctant to serve at a facility I had not served at in the past with a group I hardly knew. By the end of the day, I felt fully comfortable with the group of peers I had just met at the beginning of the day as well as other volunteers at the facility. I believe I grew in this trip through being able to feel more comfortable in uncomfortable situations as well as engaging with others I would not normally talk to. These skills will be highly valuable in the future as I continue to work in the wider community and work with other students that I have not yet become familiar with.

Standard

Leave a Reply

