Wesley Grubbs – Spring 2016 Pre Reflection (Nashville)

I am currently pursuing a Bachelors in Social Work, being an Army veteran myself I have the continuing need to serve others. I am currently a Foster parent as well, and have had over 35 children through my home in the 4 years that I have been fostering. I believe that fostering was a calling from God and my wife and I have thankfully answered that calling by doing everything we can for the children that come into our care, as if they were our own children.

I believe that everyone deserves the same chance at a meaningful life, although this may be harder for some, I would like to be a person who could help them along their way. As a social worker I plan on first working with child welfare  to gain experience within that department, and then plan on moving on to help me fellow military members in the armed forces through their transition from military life to civilian life, or just problems they may face in everyday situations.

I served in the Army from 1999-2005, and the Tennessee National Guard from 2005-2009. As a helicopter mechanic in the Army this took me to places I would have never thought of prior to joining the Army, places Such as South Korea, Iraq, and Kuwait. Everyone often asks, “If you had to do it all over again, would you?” , absolutely and I would not change a thing. We live in a great country and I am proud to be an American. God truly blessed this nation, and I am proud to be a resident here. This is why it is a mission of mine to ensure that everyone I encounter knows that there are reasons to continue to fight for the peace they deserve, and the meaningful life they desire, I hope to be the motivation they need to continue and not give up.

Standard

Leave a Reply

