Chanel Randle – Spring 2016 Pre Reflection (Washington DC)

 Hey! My name is Chanel Randle and I was born and raised in Memphis, TN. I am junior majoring in Business Administration with a concentration in Marketing. I plan on becoming retail buyer for a major retail store or specifically a store that specializes in natural products. When I was younger I knew I liked math and I was so set on becoming an Accountant ,but that quickly expired when in the 7th grade for a project I researched other job careers and retail buying sounded like the best of both worlds to me; shopping as a job. I know it sounds crazy, but I was young! Since I’ve obviously looked into it more I wanted to be one of the people in an organization that sole purpose was to ensure quality products for not only the surrounding community but other communities nation wide. As the world continues to expand manufacturers of these products are becoming  less interested in the overall quality of these products and more focused on profits. By getting into this career I can make it my duty to overlook these types of company’s whose products aren’t beneficial.

One skill in particular that I have and believe is essential is problem-solving skills. These skills are key to helping improve the lives of others. People and even the government can fall into the state of habitual decision making. They take less and less time to evaluate an issue and come up with alternatives. Being a good problem solver involves remaining objective, being able to recognize the problem and the obstacles, locating the opportunities, being a bridge when there is poor communication, and being able to translate quality and efficient research into a creative action that’s not based on what happened in the past. The question is essentially what is happening now and how are we going to change it. Therefore, I am super excited for this trip because I will actually get to expierence an organization whose creator, Robert Egger, actually applied these skills and made the D.C. Central Kitchen efficient and thriving today.

Standard

Leave a Reply

