Deidra Sloss – Spring 2016 Pre Reflection (SC)

Hi, my name is Deidra Sloss and I’m a senior this year and I’m an English major with a minor in Creative Writing. I transferred to Austin Peay from Nashville State in Nashville, where I’m from, in the Fall of 2014. I already have my A.A in English and I’m working on my B.A. in English here at Austin Peay.

I’ve known since I was a kid that I wanted to do something with English and that I would pursue a degree in English. Since being at Austin Peay, I’ve come to love all aspects of English, from the grammar to the creative, literature to technical, and I hope to be able to use all of those aspects to my advantage as I go into my future career. My dream is to teach overseas in South Korea as an English teacher, but I also have dreams of working for a publishing company or a film company one day.

One of the biggest problems that college students suffer with is being able to write effectively. As an English major and future teacher, though my goal is to work with non-native English speakers, it has been great practice helping native English speakers improve their written and spoken English. One of the things that I’ve been able to do is be a peer mentor for the APSU 1000 classes on campus last semester and that served as an opening for me to be able to help others with their essays. I don’t write their essays for them; I help them notice problems in their writing that they don’t notice by merely looking at it on the screen. My hope is, when I help people with their writing, that they will gain confidence in their voices as writers and be able to effectively communicate because everyone’s voice is valuable and being able to express it out loud and on paper is an invaluable skill.

While this will be my first time going out of state for a volunteer opportunity, I did volunteer with the Big Event that Austin Peay hosted last year. I got the chance to work in the S.O.S Food pantry and I couldn’t have been more grateful for that opportunity. Going forward into working at Lake Murray, I’ll be able to bring a positive and happy vibe with me. I know that may not seem like something knowledge based or a skill, but when going to help others, it’s important to have a positive outlook for those that are receiving the help. I was in Nashville during the 2010 flood and that flood impacted a lot of people that were close to me. My hope is that as I go and help in a flood area, that I will bring with me a level of understanding and a hard work ethic that will help people rebuild their lives. I’ll only be able to be there for a week, but I hope my small impact will be large enough for someone, even if it’s just one person.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

