Jennifer Herndon – Winter 2016 Pre Reflection (Gainesville)

Hi Y’all,

My name is Jennifer Herndon and I am one of the student leaders for our trip to Jungle Friends Sanctuary in Gainesville, Florida.  I am really excited to get to the sanctuary and get this volunteer trip started!!!  I am a senior Biology major with a focus in Bacteriology and Botany.  This will be the fourth alternate break trip I have been on and the second one as a leader.  When planning this trip, I felt it important to give back to the animals at the sanctuary, they have all been research animals and have given so much to insure our safety as humans.  The owner and her employees have been so receptive to me and I am excited to see all they do for these creatures.

My passion for volunteerism started as a young girl when I helped with Special Olympics and it has grown with work for Habitat for Humanity, construction work in Guatemala, invasive plant species removal in Chattanooga, and now with the primates at Jungle Friends.  I hope as the leader of this trip to show other students how amazing volunteer trips can be.  I hope to also show the members of my trip that volunteer work can come in all different forms and that I instill in them a passion to work for others, whether they are human or our furry friends.

I am looking forward to every part of this trip and I am ready to get down and dirty to help build new habitats for the newest primates coming to Jungle Friends.

Standard

Leave a Reply

