Olivia Burns – Fall 2015 Post Reflection (Summerville)

For my fall break we went to James H. Floyd State Park and did approximately 2 miles of trail maintenance. I feel as though I had to use social skills to get to know everyone in my group and feel comfortable around a couple unfamiliar faces for a weekend. If I wouldn’t have come to APSU not knowing anyone I don’t think that my social skills would be as strong as they are today. Looking back on my volunteer experience at the park, I believe that I have grown to be learn to appreciate doing for others. The feeling that you get when you see the genuine smile they have and having them truly thank you for taking the time out of your life to help them is amazing. I feel like going on volunteer trips helps me get to know myself more and I enjoy getting away from reality to go somewhere where you can see yourself making a difference. I think any kind of community service helps personal growth, therefore this trip definitely has helped me in the future. I hope that life after college includes as many opportunities to volunteer that Austin Peay has given me. I am truly thankful for my experience through the Center for Service-Learning and Community Engagement.

-Olivia

Standard

Leave a Reply

