William Legier – Fall 2015 Post Reflection (Valmeyer)

So, we’ve returned! An enchanting place, Valmeyer was (especially the natural beauty and tranquility of it’s landscape); everyone was so kind and passionate about their community, as well as, about up-keeping their respective Nature Reserves (public land, Salt Lick Point and private land, White Rock).

So, I’m sure you’re curious as to what we did there, exactly. Well, in a broad sense, we focused primarily on Nature Conservation work. What this entails is thus: the identification and removal of invasive species (Honeysuckle and other vegetation) for a respective reserve; I assure you, I will not be forgetting what Honeysuckle looks like anytime soon.

I, simply put, enjoyed every moment of this trip; it was truly an experience that I will not soon forget, I assure you – I wish I could have stayed longer, truthfully. I feel as though I’ve grown, in a way, throughout the duration of this trip; I gained a few worthwhile friends; I’ve acquired a new-found appreciation for Nature Conservation and the required work which goes into it. Who knows… perhaps we (Austin Peay) will visit Valmeyer again – I would certainly be up for it!

Standard

Leave a Reply

