Malena Landon – Fall 2015 Pre Reflection (Valmeyer)

Hello!

My name is Malena, I’m a Junior in the Biology program here at Austin Peay.  I am majoring in biology, obtaining a minor in chemistry, and a minor in pre-professional health studies, and I will be applying for optometry school next summer.  I have always been interested in biology, but it started with my love for horses.  I participated in 4-H throughout middle and high school, competing with the hippology team on state and national levels.  When I began applying for colleges, I made the decision to put my skill in the natural sciences to use, and settled on optometry, while majoring in biology.

The one thing my academic career has been lacking is service and volunteer work.  This lead me to the Alternate Break Trips, because they are affordable, and involve travel to other places.  The ABT to Valmeyer was particularly appealing to me because it combined biology work with service.  As a biology student, I am highly interested in invasive species removal, ecology, and conservation biology.  I am excited to be working with the Land and Water Reserve on this trip, and can’t wait to see what all of us can accomplish!

Standard

Leave a Reply

