Dominik Shannon – Summer 2015 (Guatemala)

The first step on to the streets of Antigua was the most baffling experience. Cobblestone roads, mothers trying to sell homemade goods, and stucco houses about; I was certainly in another country.  This is my first time ever leaving the States, so you know I was already out of my comfort zone, but in a good way.  The most exciting experience was visiting local shops and markets. First off, getting adjusted to Quetzal currency was a doozy. Also, trying to explain to the cashier what you want or how much has rejuvenated my knowledge for the Spanish language, but it also showed me how large this world is. I finally had the epiphany that there truly are so many languages, currencies, cultures, and ethnicity out there, all showing much distinction.  This experience has invoked my curiosity to visit other countries to undergo this cultural submersion as much as possible.

– Dominik Shannon on Sunday, May 16th, 2015

Standard

Leave a Reply

