Jennifer Herndon – Summer Pre Reflection 2015 (Guatemala)

 Hello Everyone, Just Jenn here…

Just JennI am very excited to get to Guatemala and serve in their communities!  I have had the opportunity to help build a home with Habitat for Humanity (Alternative Spring Break 2014 – Hattiesburg, Mississippi) and to remove invasive plant species for the placement of a wild animal enclosure at the Chattanooga Arboretum (Leader of Alternative Fall Break 2015 – Chattanooga, Tennessee).  My volunteer experiences started as a young girl and have continued into my adult life.  My family has always been involved with the Special Olympics both locally and nationally, and I worked with the homeless in San Francisco, California for many years before moving to Tennessee.  Here at Austin Peay State University I have been blessed to work with Manna Cafe, the W.E.T. Project, the Humane Society, Habitat for Humanity’s A Brush with Kindness Organization, the Children’s Miracle Network at Vanderbilt, the Salvation Army, and the “Feed My Starving Children” organization.

All of these experiences have been AMAZING, HUMBLING, and REWARDING BEYOND MEASURE!!!

I am 45 years young and the mother of two fabulous children, Alexander (25) and Macee Renae (23).  I am a Senior majoring in Biology with a focus on Botany and a minor in Sociology.  I would like to continue my graduate education by obtaining my D.O. in family practice and my PhD. in Medical Botany/Biology.  I am very passionate about caring for and feeding America’s hungry children.  I hope to work in the Appalachian Mountain area in an effort to accomplish my goals.  In my free time I enjoy serving on school committees, working at the animal shelter, collecting plant specimens, crocheting, hiking, cooking and reading. 

Again, I am thrilled to get to serve in Guatemala this May!

Standard

Leave a Reply

